West Palm Beach Car Accident Lawyer Explains Florida’s PIP Law
Find out more about how personal injury protection works
The rights of victims of car accidents in Florida are protected by the state's Personal Injury Protection (PIP) regulations. Under the law, Florida drivers are required to have car insurance. The law states each driver must have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP coverage and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL). But even then, that's often not enough. As a result, many Florida residents must deal with the consequences of an underinsured motorist accident. If you don't see a doctor or go to an Emergency Room within 14 days of an accident, you lose the $10,000 in PIP coverage for which you have already paid. There are many more complex requirements and you can lose your rights if you don't have an experienced personal injury lawyer to guide you.
PIP insurance also serves another purpose. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, PIP insurance "covers you - regardless of fault (i.e. whether or not you cause the crash) - up to the limits of your policy. Your PIP will also cover your child, members of your household, certain passengers who lack PIP Insurance as long as they do not own a vehicle. People riding in your vehicle who carry PIP will receive coverage under their own PIP for their injuries, and certain licensed drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission. PIP also covers your child if he or she suffers an injury while riding on a school bus. PIP coverage protects you while in someone else's vehicle, as a pedestrian, or bicyclist if you suffer an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle."