My car was damaged in a West Palm Beach hit-and-run accident. What do I need to file my insurance claim?
A hit-and-run accident occurs when the driver who causes a West Palm Beach car crash leaves the scene of the accident. Since Florida is a no-fault state, you will still be able to collect insurance compensation for your injuries and property damage. However, you will have to prove to your insurance company that an accident really did occur.
Your first step should be to call 911 and report the accident. Leaving the scene of a Florida car crash is against the law. An officer will be sent to the scene to fill out an accident report and to look for evidence that will help to identify the other driver. Ask the officer how you can get a copy of the accident report. You will need this when you contact your insurance company.
Take pictures of the damage to your car and any damage at the scene of the accident. If the driver left skid marks or any other evidence, take photographs. Write down everything you remember about the accident. Try to get the names and numbers of any witnesses. This may help you answer any questions that your insurance company asks.
If you have any injuries, go to the emergency room. It is important that you see a doctor even if your injuries don't seem serious. You may not be able to get full medical benefits from your personal injury protection policy unless you see an approved medical provider within 14 days of your accident.
Your insurance policy will cover the first $10,000 for your injuries and the cost of damage to your vehicle within the limits of your Florida policy. If there is additional damage, it will be covered by your uninsured motorist coverage.
If you have trouble getting coverage for your injuries and property damage, a West Palm Beach accident lawyer can help. To learn more, request a free copy of The Florida Accident Workbook: Tools, Tips & Tactics to Resolve Your Injury Claim, or contact David Glatthorn at 866-413-5525.