The Best Way to Lose Your Florida PIP Benefits
Florida law requires that every driver have a minimum of $10,000 in No Fault/Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. On January 1, 2013, the rules that govern Florida's PIP insurance will change. Under the new regulations, anyone who is injured in a Florida car accident must see a doctor within two weeks of the accident, or they lose all PIP medical benefits.
In 2011, the average cost of car insurance in Florida was $1,696. This is significantly higher than the 2011 national average of $1,432. Under the new rules, you could lose the very benefits for which you've paid.
It may seem that two weeks is plenty of time to know if you are injured. The problem is that some injuries, even serious injuries such as herniated discs or brain injuries, may take weeks to manifest symptoms. So you will have to sue your own insurance company, even if your doctor is convinced that the accident has caused your injury.
What can you do to make sure you that you don't lose your full PIP benefits? Boca Raton car accident attorney David J. Glatthorn suggests that all Florida accident victims do the following:
- Visit the emergency room or make an appointment to see your primary care physician as soon as possible after the accident. You must see an MD, DO, PA or ARN. You cannot see a chiropractor.
- Let your doctor know that you may have been injured in a Boca Raton car accident, and ask for a list of signs and symptoms to watch for.
- Tell the doctor about every symptom that you are experiencing, including any bruises, cuts, aches, or pains.
- If you have any new symptoms, contact your doctor immediately.
- If you have difficulty getting coverage, contact a Boca Raton injury lawyer at 866-413-5525.