How Florida’s New PIP Law Will Impact Victims’ Medical Benefits
If you are wondering if you should go to a doctor or emergency room for medical treatment, even if you don't feel injured after a Palm Beach auto accident, consider this:
If you don't go, you may not be eligible to receive your medical benefits down the line if/when your injury surfaces, according to the state's new law.
Florida drivers have been required to purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage to make sure there is enough money to treat their injuries in the event of a crash. For years drivers have purchased a minimum of $10,000 of PIP coverage and had access to it if injured; however, the new Florida PIP law may now only give those insured access to 25% of this amount.
Florida's PIP changes will limit those injured in accidents non-emergency care up to $2,500, and allow emergency care patients only identified as having an "emergency medical condition" full access to their $10,000 of medical benefits.
The Importance of Seeing a Doctor Immediately Following a West Palm Beach Car Crash
What these changes mean is that, as of January 1, 2013, you need to go to the doctor for medical care immediately following a traffic accident. If you do not go to a doctor within 14 days of your accident, you will not be eligible to receive any of your PIP medical benefits.
If you ignore your injuries, tough it out, or turn to over-the-counter pain medications to self-treat, you may pass the 14 day window and be left with medical expenses that your PIP policy will not cover.
If you are hurt in a Florida car accident, $2,500 will not be enough to cover your medical treatment. You will need an experienced West Palm Beach personal injury lawyer to represent you and make sure you get your full medical benefits. Call David Glatthorn at 561-659-1999 for a free case consultation today.