Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage is a type of automobile insurance policy that is designed to cover medical expenses, disability benefits, death benefits, and lost wages regardless of who was at fault in the car accident. In Florida, all drivers are required to carry $10,000 in PIP insurance so that they may have coverage in the case of an injury, whether or not they were responsible or partially responsible for the accident.
Your Florida PIP insurance covers:
- You, when you are driving your car inside or outside of Florida state lines
- You, when you are a passenger in another car
- You, when you are riding a bike or walking
- Your child, when riding in your car or another vehicle
- Other passengers in your car without PIP insurance (who do not have a Florida vehicle)
- Some licensed drivers who are operating your car with your permission
Until recently, your $10,000 in PIP coverage could be used to pay for a wide range of medical costs and other losses. However, Florida lawmakers recently passed new PIP insurance coverage laws that will make it increasingly difficult to receive full benefits. For example, under the new auto insurance laws, car accident victims will need to prove that they suffer from an "emergency medical condition" within two weeks of the accident to secure more than $2,500 in benefits. Also under the new law, the medical professionals you may see for treatment and the treatments you receive for your injuries are limited.
It is more important than ever to fully understand your PIP insurance policy as well as the new PIP coverage reform laws-especially if you are ever injured in a Florida car accident. If you are seeking compensation for a car accident injury, or if you are having difficulty getting the full benefits you deserve from the insurance company, talk to West Palm Beach injury attorney David Glattorn today. Call toll-free: 866-413-5525.