What You Need to Know About Florida's PIP Changes
By now, you've probably read about the new PIP coverage laws that were passed by Florida lawmakers. But while you might have gleaned some information about what Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance is and the changes that are coming, you may still have questions on how exactly YOU will be affected by the laws if you are injured in a Florida car accident.
When do the PIP changes take effect? While some PIP laws have already gone into effect, most aspects of PIP reforms begin on January 1, 2013. Insurance companies are not required to tell customers about these changes or to redraft their policies to reflect the new laws.
What is the maximum payout amount? While all Florida residents are required to buy a $10,000 PIP policy, car accident victims now will only be guaranteed $2,500. The other $7,500 is accessible, though policyholders must prove they have emergency medical conditions and could be subjected to oral statements under oath.
What type of doctors can I see after my accident and injury? When being diagnosed with a so-called "emergency medical condition" (EMC), you must see an approved medical doctor, osteopath, dentist, physician's assistant or nurse administrator. You may not see a chiropractor. To access your full payout amount, you must be seen and diagnosed within 14 days of your accident.
While the PIP coverage reforms are meant to reduce premiums and litigation, it is becoming clear that the opposite might happen-and some PIP-related lawsuits have already been filed. If you are struggling to acquire the benefits and compensation you need after a serious car accident injury, we may be able to help. Call David Glatthorn Law today to speak with a West Palm Beach injury attorney about your case.